1 of 3

Hard Drive Already Decrypted

I have my system set up to auto-mount my encrypted backup hard drive (set up through the Disks utility).

However, whenever I plug in my drive or boot up my system, I often receive a message like this, saying that my drive is "already in use:"

enter image description here

Unable to mount 6.0 TB Encrypted
Error unlocking /dev/sda1: Command-line `cryptsetup 
luksOpen "/dev/sda1" "luks-backup"' exited with
non-zero exit status 5: Cannot use device /dev/sda1
which is in use (already mapped or mounted).

Similarly, on (rare) APT operations, I get prompted for the password for my other encrypted drive (which is similarly auto-decrypted). I can usually skip this operation without issue by just pressing ENTER.

Is there a way I can suppress these messages?


The block tree for my encrypted drive:

NAME                                          MAJ:MIN RM  SIZE RO TYPE  MOUNTPOINT
sda                                             8:0    0  7.3T  0 disk  
├─sda2                                          8:2    0  1.8T  0 part  
│ └─luks-b6551dcf-40a3-404c-b6d1-c7c820922e1e 253:4    0  1.8T  0 crypt /media/kazwolfe/Desktop Files
└─sda1                                          8:1    0  5.5T  0 part  
  └─luks-backup                               253:3    0  5.5T  0 crypt /media/kazwolfe/Backup