3

Is there a way to hide specific applications, for example Skype, from Dash?

If so, how?

5
  • 2
    possible duplicate of: askubuntu.com/questions/71240/… – Johan Schuijt Nov 2 '16 at 9:04
  • 1
    @JacobVlijm There's no difference in hiding application shortcuts from Dash, whether the actual program was removed or not, because Dash deals with .desktop files, not programs themselves. You know this quite well. Your answer really should have been on the duplicate. – Sergiy Kolodyazhnyy Nov 2 '16 at 10:26
  • 1
    @JacobVlijm First of, removing .desktop file doesn't remove application itself, besides they can be recreated. Second, it's sufficient to rename it to hide ( app.desktop.bak for example ). Finally, same approach with editing the file can be applied in each case. But if you're not satisfied with that question, there's a different one: askubuntu.com/q/644384/295286 Same answer as yours, same question. Verdict - still a duplicate – Sergiy Kolodyazhnyy Nov 2 '16 at 10:38
  • @Serg My turn to be surprised by your comment and explanation. You should never (advice to) remove a global .desktop file while the application is still installed. Recreate it? Do you know all the appropriate keywords that were used for language and all other options? Secondly, a bit weird to edit a .desktop file of an application that was removed. Not sure what is the point. I am pretty sure you very well know this is another question, requires another answer. – Jacob Vlijm Nov 2 '16 at 10:45
  • @Serg Your second one isn' t an exact dupe either, although it has the same solution. – Jacob Vlijm Nov 2 '16 at 10:48
4

Hiding an application from Dash

To hide installed application(s) (any) from Dash is very well possible.

  1. Find the corresponding .desktop file in /usr/share/applications

  2. Copy the file to ~/.local/share/applications . The local directory is hidden by default, press Ctrl + H to toggle visability.

  3. Open the file with (e.g.) gedit

  4. Add the following line before the line (if it exists) Actions=, but below the first line:

     Hidden=true
    

Now log out and back in and you're done.

enter image description here

Note

Always first copy the .desktop file to ~/.local/share/applications and edit the local one. The local one will then overrule the global one on re- login.

To undo, simply delete the local one.

0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.