0

I am new to the concepts of ubuntu so this may make me sound stupid but I really want to know: IS there any way to remove all the user-installed programs and settings and set the server back to a "new" state like right after an install? I'm new(er), so I experiment a lot, make mistakes, and learn but that often has me reinstalling ubuntu to get a "fresh slate" and backtrack my issues.... is it possible? (this question is about ubuntu server software and not the desktop versions)

1

Not really, no. I always just go for the fresh install option, things tend to go wrong upgrading to a new release from an existing system. I imagine there's something drastic you could do with dpkg, but I wouldn't go down that rabbit hole.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.