7

I installed Eclipse via command apt-get install eclipse.

This command completed correctly.

After this, I run Eclipse and add some configurations: Added a new URL for "Available Software Sites".

On the next step, I try removed Eclipse via apt-get remove eclipse and install eclipse again.

And here I see a surprise: in the newly installed Eclipse, I see my old URL for "Available Software Sites".

So, I guess, that the configuration file(s) is not removed.

After this I tried different commands: something like this:

sudo dpkg -r eclipse
sudo apt-get --purge remove eclipse
sudo apt-get autoremove

But after I again install Eclipse I see my URL.

How I can fully remove Eclipse along with its configuration files?

13

Your personal configuration files are stored in your home directory.

Check ~/.eclipse/ or ~/.config/eclipse/

Note, these are hidden directories (Ctrl+H in Nautilus to show, or ls -la).

1
  • Thanks. But, how to remove eclipse from here too? – Shachi Sep 6 '17 at 6:41
1

To get rid of old configurations and options, delete the .eclipse directory from your home directory. You can do this with the help of following command:

rm -rf ~/.eclipse
0

This is a pretty normal behaviour because in this case all the settings belong to a personal profile and not to the application itself; also at the first boot you were asked for the workspace location and there you can locate your files, and that path is used by Eclipse to retrieve your settings.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.