This question already has an answer here:

When deleting a file or a folder, I don't get a prompt requesting confirmation of the deletion (the way I'm used to with Windows).

marked as duplicate by Eric Carvalho, Fabby, waltinator, vidarlo, David Foerster Mar 22 at 14:07

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 3
    Please be more specific, how did you try to delete the items? Via the terminal? With the keyboard? A script? – Mixxiphoid May 21 '14 at 5:07
  • 4
    Also note that 12.10 is End of Life, and you should probably upgrade to something that still receives updates and security fixes. – Thomas Ward May 21 '14 at 5:14
  • 1
    As @ThomasW. says you should definitely upgrade to a supported version of Ubuntu (right now — it's really very urgent)... But the behaviour this question is about is exactly the same on other (supported) releases. There's no reason to close this as off-topic. – Oli May 21 '14 at 8:28

Hi & Welcome to AU,

Assuming that you're trying this on nautilus but no through the terminal. Well there's a known Bug discussion in place for a while now. Not sure what has happened to it yet though.

Default behavior of deleting a file/folder is that; the moment you hit DEL button; file/folder will be moved to Trash without any further confirmation prompt. But when you use SHIFT+DEL together, it will for sure ask for a confirmation since you're completely deleting the file out of the system. Further the same, confirmation will be prompted when emptying the trash or deleting the file individually within trash.

If you're not being prompted for confirmation while emptying the trash, deleting the file individually within trash or either using SHIFT+DEL anywhere; make sure you've enabled the option which can be seen below;

  • Open Nautilus -> Edit -> Preferences --> Navigate to Behaviour tab & de below;

enter image description here

Hope this helps! :)

  • 1
    This is a good option for people just switching over from Windows. I remember the old days, where Linux didn't care. It assumed you know what you are doing and just deleted it. :) – Dan Johansen May 21 '14 at 13:29
  • 2
    That options refers to "emptying the Trash" or "deleting files", but not "moving files to the trash". Most users coming from Windows would like to get a confirmation before getting their files trashed (actually, most windows users don't even know what happens to files when they are moved to the trash or that they can even recover them, they just see them disappear). I guess the OP may be referring to this last case which is not covered. – Simón May 16 '15 at 18:20
  • 1
    Quoting the Bug report (dating back to 2008 !! It's unbelievable): However, this can be very annoying and dangerous bug to a common user - a user may have pressed "Delete" to move very important data to the Trash, and then, without realising the previous action have cleaned the Trash, so permanently loosing that information despite there being a two-step (and partially revertible) process. /SIGNED m( – Frank Nocke Oct 26 '16 at 0:28

Make sure behavior from nautilus preference. (Menubar-Edit>Preferences from nautilus)

enter image description here

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.