4

I want to upgrade virtual box on my Ubuntu Server 12.04 box. The original version is 4.1 and the latest is 4.2.

dpkg reports that I need to uninstall the old version to install the new one. Will I lose any data in this process?

  • Both virtualbox-ose and virtualbox are 4.1 in the Ubuntu repository – ignis Jun 25 '13 at 9:57
4

No - it only removes/reinstalls the application itself. All your VMs and other data will remain intact.

  • So upon installing and opening the latest version I will see all my old VM's still? – user970638 Jun 24 '13 at 21:22
  • 1
    Yes, and if for some reason you do not see the list (have not seen that happen), you can just re-add it via the Machine->Add menu. – Code Friendly Jun 24 '13 at 21:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.