4

When I use dm-tool to lock the screen for userA, I can log in as userB and then use dm-tool to switch back to userA's session without having to enter a password. Is that the expected behavior? If not, how should I switch from A to B without leaving userA exposed?

userA$ dm-tool lock

--> Shows Greeter. Login as userB.

userB$ dm-tool switch-to-user userA

--> Expected this to go to greeter, but it goes right back to userA's session.

Do I have something mis-configured, or what?

0

I've tried doing that and what I actually had is not exposed, but locked session of user A.

Say I'm logged in @ Vty/7 as user A and then when I do "dm-tool lock" it switches me to another Vty with new instance of X server and login window. But I can skip login into and easily go back to Vty/7 — pressing Ctrl_Alt_F7. When I do this, I see locked user A session, there's no doubt.

| improve this answer | |
0

As of today it looks like this behaviour pertains to an older version than lightdm 1.18.3.

However on lightdm 1.18.3 I encounter that the screen illumination is switched off after

dm-tool switch-to-user userA

The computer (in my case a Lenovo T400 running xubuntu 16.04, currently with kernel 4.10.0-32-generic x86_64) is still running after that, I observe the WLAN LED blinking. In this situation I can use Ctl+Alt+F1 to switch to a console (and the screen light goes on!) which opens with a greeter dialog. But I can also immediately use Ctl+Alt+F7 to return to my GUI session which I left.

It looks to me that there is a bug in dm-tool switch-to-user switching off the screen illumination (at least on my laptop).

Of course, when I am in the console started witn Ctl+Alt+F1 I can log on as a different user and start a GUI issuing

startx

But this is definitely not what is advertized for

switch-to-user USERNAME [SESSION]

"Switch to a user session. If this user is already logged in then the display manager will switch to that session, otherwise a new session is started. If authentication is required a greeter will start to collect this. If the session option is provided then this session type will be used, otherwise the default for this user is used."

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.