I am running a Postfix mailserver on Ubuntu 19.10 and have mynetworks set to localhost so any attempts to relay email are blocked - i.e.:

telnet emailserver.com 25
helo testing.com
mail from:<test@testing.com>
rcpt to:<someone@gmail.com>
554 5.7.1 <someone@gmail.com>: Relay access denied

However the email server has just been added to a blacklist and looking through the mail log around that time and I see lines like this:

postfix/qmgr[1887]: 9B5D41BAA34: from=<yuze88@21cn.com>, size=2536, nrcpt=20 (queue active)
postfix/smtp[6764]: 53FA21B94EE: to=<original@fortunecook.de>, relay=mx00.kundenserver.de[]:25, delay=41155, delays=41154/0.96/0.1/0, dsn=4.0.0, status=deferred (host mx00.kundenserver.de[] refused to talk to me: 554-kundenserver.de (mxeue011) Nemesis ESMTP Service not available 554-No SMTP service 554-Bad DNS PTR resource record. 554
postfix/error[6700]: 9B5D41BAA34: to=<jorg.stuttgart@web.de>, relay=none, delay=30007, delays=30007/0.02/0/0, dsn=4.0.0, status=deferred (delivery temporarily suspended: host mx-ha02.web.de[] refused to talk to me: 554-web.de (mxweb113) Nemesis ESMTP Service not available 554-No SMTP service 554-Bad DNS PTR resource record. 554

The from addresses are all different and not users that exist on the server so I can't work out what could be wrong. The mail log has been filling up with messages like the ones above since 10:29 on the 23rd December and looks normal prior to this.

So it would appear my server is sending spam but according to tests I have done relaying is denied and as the from email doesn't match any user I don't know who's login may have been compromised, if this is the issue?

Here are the relevant sections from my configuration:

mynetworks = [::ffff:]/104 [::1]/128

# Restrictions
smtpd_helo_restrictions =
smtpd_recipient_restrictions =
smtpd_sender_restrictions =
smtpd_relay_restrictions =

mydestination = localhost

Looking at the mail log some more it looks like the emails may be getting relayed through my server:

Dec 23 10:56:06 rwshosting1810 postfix/qmgr[1887]: E99061B9FB8: from=<yuze88@21cn.com>, size=1911, nrcpt=20 (queue active)
Dec 23 10:56:07 rwshosting1810 postfix/qmgr[1887]: BDF221B9FC3: from=<yuze88@21cn.com>, size=2754, nrcpt=20 (queue active)
Dec 23 10:56:07 rwshosting1810 amavis[14683]: (14683-12) Passed CLEAN {RelayedInbound}, []:38411 [] <yuze88@21cn.com> -> <eleichtfuss@freenet.de>,<singlemail1@freenet.de>,<chris.seil@gmx.at>,<simon-aufischer@gmx.at>,<drwaltersiefert@gmx.de>,<m.mahamied@gmx.de>,<macpaper66@gmx.de>,<peter.gidai@gmx.de>,<rene-herpich@gmx.de>,<w.herauf@gmx.de>,<zarkaban@gmx.de>,<reinhardt-kunze@kabelbw.de>,<siegfried.osterkorn@tele2.at>,<uranas@uranas.de>,<klaus.renner@volksstimme.de>,<andreas.br@web.de>,<capdesign@web.de>,<cyberjoerg@web.de>,<markus.84034@web.de>,<wi_felix@web.de>, Queue-ID: E99061B9FB8, Message-ID: <2df69ac9c2e93c30172294c733f5dfd3f6af2385@21cn.com>, mail_id: LkGzeR7_Yuv4, Hits: 1.885, size: 1911, queued_as: BDF221B9FC3, 1112 ms
Dec 23 10:57:40 rwshosting1810 postfix/smtp[12908]: C1F771B9FC6: to=<yuze88@21cn.com>, relay=mta.21cn.com[]:25, delay=1.8, delays=0.01/0.01/1.6/0.22, dsn=5.0.0, status=bounced (host mta.21cn.com[] said: 501 Syntax: MAIL FROM: <address> zm-as1 (in reply to MAIL FROM command))

Looking at more of the logs it would seem that yuze88@21cn.com uses a range of different IP addresses in different subnets. If I then search on the IP address in the logs then I see entries like this:

Dec 23 12:52:58 rwshosting1810 postfix/submission/smtpd[16065]: connect from unknown[]
Dec 23 12:52:58 rwshosting1810 postfix/submission/smtpd[16065]: lost connection after CONNECT from unknown[]
Dec 23 12:52:58 rwshosting1810 postfix/submission/smtpd[16065]: disconnect from unknown[] commands=0/0
Dec 23 12:52:59 rwshosting1810 amavis[21295]: (21295-07) Passed CLEAN {RelayedInbound}, []:11962 [] <a1596410@correo.uia.mx> -> <bernd.j.h@arcor.de>,<andre.zeiger@azmedien.ch>,<mandisstyromull@bluewin.ch>,<stojanovic1982@gmx.at>,<hp-erhard@gmx.de>,<konrad.adelhard@gmx.de>,<mark.weinhardt@gmx.de>,<maxi.dwenger@gmx.de>,<white-colly@gmx.de>,<bernardo_1955@hotmail.de>,<boztepe061@hotmail.de>,<cafe-ollo@hotmail.de>,<s.eisenblaetter64@hotmail.de>,<salvatore.manduca@sbsport.ch>,<raoul.biernat@t-online.de>,<baedmaen70@web.de>,<comun@web.de>,<dom58@web.de>,<kallmeyerfrank@web.de>,<keller-volkmarsen@web.de>, Queue-ID: D80F51BA7EC, Message-ID: <ac4c6b1a113aef1c3fc147141fcbf3ffdc2007cc57@correo.uia.mx>, mail_id: w5hrPYA4CZZC, Hits: 5.681, size: 1964, queued_as: 58BA61BA7ED, 1377 ms      
Dec 23 12:53:00 rwshosting1810 postfix/submission/smtpd[14803]: warning: hostname client.yota.ru does not resolve to address Name or service not known

Thanks Robin

  • 2
    Edit your question to include your configuration. Especially mynetworks and smtpd_recipient_restrictions and smtpd_relay_restrictions is of interest. – vidarlo Dec 26 '19 at 13:18
  • 1
    Thanks @vidarlo, I should have thought of this. Have edited my question to add these lines. – Robin Wilson Dec 26 '19 at 15:01
  • 1
    What appears in mail.log? Is it possible that the user is in fact authenticated? Try to track the session of the message by grep "yuze88@21cn.com" /var/mail.log, which should give you the IP. Then grep "ip address here" /var/mail.log. Update your question with the new information :) Additionally, mydestination directive is also worth checking. – vidarlo Dec 26 '19 at 15:24
  • Thank you @vidarlo, I have ameded my question with the details you mentioned. Looking at the log I'm not entirely sure what is going on. – Robin Wilson Jan 2 '20 at 19:59
  • The server is now blacklisted on Sender Score Reputation Network, Spamhaus ZEN, TRUNCATE and UCEPROTECTL1 so is definately spamming even though according to the hardening guide I believe I am following everything. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. – Robin Wilson Feb 6 '20 at 0:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.