Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let' say I overwrite a text file named test.txt in KDE. KDE will make a copy of the old file and save it as test.txt~ in the same directory.

Is it possible to disable that? I make copies of the old files I need, so it's highly annoying to have every file in two versions.

share|improve this question
1  
That's not KDE doing that, it's whichever editor you are using. Please add information about which app you are using to edit the files. –  ImaginaryRobots Jan 4 '12 at 17:25
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

You can disable this by opening your editor of text, then go to preferences and disable automatic backup.

If you are using kedit, then go to settings > configure > disable backups when saving text.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.