Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Why does Nautilus automatically remount a USB Drive when I clicked "Safely Remove Drive"? It powers it down nice, then just when I'm about to unplug it, it reactivates it and remounts it! OOPS! Now I just unplugged it while it was powering on.. Smooth. Is there a way to turn this off? I already activated "Never prompt or start programs on media insertion", and it still does it.

share|improve this question

closed as off topic by bodhi.zazen, jrg Feb 27 '12 at 20:28

Questions on Ask Ubuntu are expected to relate to Ubuntu within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1  
As it removed it, the chance of data loss is low (all data has been written). However you may have another concern apart from that. –  Portablejim Dec 16 '11 at 0:14
    
This question should instead be filed as a bug report, and as such is off-topic, thanks! Instructions here. –  bodhi.zazen Feb 27 '12 at 19:26
    
Duplicate: askubuntu.com/questions/422481/… –  rubo77 Feb 18 at 8:54
    
Related askubuntu.com/q/422481/289138 –  Hannu Aug 29 at 18:40

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.