Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm sick of accidentally deleting files and directories as DEL button is badly located on my keyboard. I would really like it if ubuntu asked me to confirm before deleting anything. Is there a way to do this?

share|improve this question
    
Which application? Nautilus pops up a confirmation dialog box for deleting any file by default. Are you talking about 'delete' on desktop entries? –  Gödel Oct 21 '10 at 0:53
1  
Are you talking about "Delete" or "Move to Trash"? For the first it always asks for confirmation, for the second it doesn't (but you can restore them of course). –  JanC Oct 21 '10 at 2:19
    
@Godel No I don't get any confirmation dialog box! –  Jon Doe Oct 21 '10 at 3:27
    
I'm using 11.10. There is no any confirmation dialog! I usually accidently delete some important folders. I mean pressing Delete button on the keyboard. Ok, It is moved to Trash Bin. But the problem is I don't know that I already deleted it! The trash contains 1xxxxxxx files, how to find it to restore if there so many folder same name? That's a big problem. I still don't understand why Ubuntu doesn't give an option to turn on and off the delete confirmation dialog. VERY annoying! –  Emerald214 Nov 13 '11 at 9:27
    
@Emerald214 you need to manage your trash bin more closely. –  Merlin Jun 21 '12 at 15:43

4 Answers 4

Unless this has recently changed without my knowing, there is no way to get a delete confirmation on delete in Ubuntu. This is a feature that has been requested many times in Ubuntu, but is yet to be implemented thus far.

share|improve this answer
    
Nautilus has always asked before deleting files... –  JanC Oct 21 '10 at 2:20
    
Really, because I never get a confirmation and I run Ubuntu 10.04 and I've been testing 10.10. Maybe there IS a setting somewhere that I don't know about? –  Adam Thompson Oct 21 '10 at 2:22
    
Yes, @Adam and I are on the same page! –  Jon Doe Oct 21 '10 at 3:28
4  
I think that there is some confusion on what you mean by "delete." On my system, when a file will be deleted permanently Nautilus asks for conformation. If it moves it to the trash, then it does not. Just pressing the "delete" key doesn't permanently remove the file. It will just be in the trash. –  andrewsomething Oct 21 '10 at 14:00

While there's no delete confirmation dialog, Nautilus can tell us which files we've just deleted.

Go to the trash and select "List" as view mode. This information is in the Trashed-On column.

It appears that Nautilus may be the only file browser that shows this information. I checked Thunar and PCManFM; none of them are able to show this column.

share|improve this answer

There is a setting for this in the Nautilus preferences (in the "Behavior" tab), but I just tested with a clean profile and asking for confirmation is on by default.

share|improve this answer
    
That setting is for permanently deleting files from the Deleted Items/Trash - it does not affect moving files to the Trash/Deleted Items as the original poster asked about. –  8128 Oct 21 '10 at 7:04
    
Well, that's not what he says in his question, and he didn't reword his question when I asked if that was what he meant. If you are right about what he is talking about, then he should edit the question and phrase it correctly. –  JanC Oct 21 '10 at 16:54
    
delete key moves to trash, shift+delete requests confirmation this is what is meant by delete in the behavior tab –  Merlin Jun 21 '12 at 15:46

Kinda think both options if you are sure of someone asking either of them... This saves both times. Also it may help someone having the problem different than the other.

So in simple words, try to answer in all possible ways, if u are not that busy. :)

Well, MY ANSWER is:

Delete confirmation is on by default, and can be set to off. But Move to Trash confirmation is off, and can't be modified yet!

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.