Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I upgraded to Ubuntu 11.10 from 11.04 with a USB installation. I chose install keeping old files (other choices were install 11.10 alongside, and complete new install). During the upgrade it asked for my name and computer name. After the upgrade was finished and restarted, the other users (there were two others previously) has disappeared! Only my name is present. Even using the Other Users account cannot open the old accounts. But checking the home directory, their folders are still intact. What happened? How do I correct this? I'm a newbie. Thanks

share|improve this question

closed as too localized by Luis Alvarado Mar 14 '13 at 16:06

This question is unlikely to help any future visitors; it is only relevant to a small geographic area, a specific moment in time, or an extraordinarily narrow situation that is not generally applicable to the worldwide audience of the internet. For help making this question more broadly applicable, visit the help center.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1  
Please post the output of these commands: grep /bin/bash /etc/passwd, id and ls -l /home (i.e. all user account settings). –  arrange Nov 28 '11 at 8:44

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.