Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When packages are already installed and I run an apt-get install <package-name>, sometimes it will print a line <package-name> is set to manually installed.

What does that mean?

share|improve this question
up vote 31 down vote accepted

If you install a package, all packages that that package depends upon are also installed. For example if you install the package vlc, it will automatically install vlc-nox. The automatically installed packages (in this case, vlc-nox) are set as "automatically installed" -- if you remove vlc, the package manager will suggest to remove vlc-nox as well (aptitude will do this automatically, if you use apt-get you can remove all automatically installed packages with apt-get autoremove).

Now, if you do apt-get install vlc-nox you will get the message that vlc-nox is now set to "manually installed", i.e. the package manager now thinks that you want that package specifically and not just installed it because vlc needed it. If you remove vlc, vlc-nox will therefore not be automatically removed.

This does not affect updates in any way.

share|improve this answer
1  
Aaah. That makes perfect sense. Thanks so much! – chrismar035 Aug 5 '10 at 12:58
    
Is there any other way to install these packages? I have to install some packages to correct an unmet dependencies issue. – SY_13 Apr 26 at 4:31

You can use sudo apt-mark auto $PACKAGES to mark packages as automatically being installed again, if you accidentally mark them as manually installed.

Automatically installed packages can be removed using apt-get autoremove (or using similar processes, e.g. via Synaptic).

share|improve this answer
4  
the markauto syntax is deprecated. Instead, use sudo apt-mark auto $PACKAGES – Brian Minton Mar 18 '14 at 16:27
    
Edited, thanks. – blueyed Mar 19 '14 at 6:38

It means that a package was manually selected and not automatically by another packages or a meta-packages. The difference it, that the latter can be auto-removed, when the package that triggered this install is not anymore present (after an upgrade, or because it was removed). A manually selected package should not be removed in this way.

This has no impact on the ability to upgrade package when such upgrades are available or the notifications thereof.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.