Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I installed Eclipse via command apt-get install eclipse.

This command completed correctly.

After this, I run Eclipse and add some configurations: Added a new URL for "Available Software Sites".

On the next step, I try removed Eclipse via apt-get remove eclipse and install eclipse again.

And here I see a surprise: in the newly installed Eclipse, I see my old URL for "Available Software Sites".

So, I guess, that the configuration file(s) is not removed.

After this I tried different commands: something like this:

sudo dpkg -r eclipse
sudo apt-get --purge remove eclipse
sudo apt-get autoremove

But after I again install Eclipse I see my URL.

How I can fully remove Eclipse along with its configuration files?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Your personal configuration files are stored in your home directory.

Check ~/.eclipse/ or ~/.config/eclipse/

Note, these are hidden directories (Ctrl+H in Nautilus to show, or ls -la).

share|improve this answer
add comment

This is a pretty normal behaviour because in this case all the settings belong to a personal profile and not to the application itself; also at the first boot you were asked for the workspace location and there you can locate your files, and that path is used by Eclipse to retrieve your settings.

share|improve this answer
add comment

To get rid of old configurations and options, delete the .eclipse directory from your home directory. You can do this with the help of following command:

rm -rf ~/.eclipse
share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.