Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I delete a file, the following message appears on the screen:

screenshot

How could disable that message and send the file straight to the trash can?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers 3

up vote 10 down vote accepted

You can try this:

1) Open Pcmanfm (File Manager) and go to Edit > Preferences

enter image description here

For Lubuntu 12.04 to 13.10

Uncheck Confirm before deleting files

enter image description here

For Lubuntu 14.04

Uncheck Confirm before moving files into "trash can"

enter image description here

Hope this helps.

share|improve this answer
    
wow. Great answer. Thanks! –  chelder May 14 at 18:30
add comment

You can also delete a file without moving to trash by using Shift + Delete shortcut.

share|improve this answer
1  
Just to be clear, you still get a prompt, but you don't need to take the extra step of emptying the trash later. –  IQAndreas May 14 at 19:43
add comment

Nautilus>edit>preferences>behavior

There's a pair of checkboxes near the bottom of that panel to choose "delete" behavior.

share|improve this answer
3  
Lubuntu uses Pcmanfm as default file manager, not Nautilus. –  Radu Rădeanu May 14 at 17:15
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.