Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I would like to know exactly which scripts are responsible for default iptables rules (no ufw, no gufw) in Ubuntu Server 14.04. After fresh installation even with ufw disabled (by default) there are such rules:

root@hv0:~# iptables -L -n
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
ACCEPT     udp  --              udp dpt:53
ACCEPT     tcp  --              tcp dpt:53
ACCEPT     udp  --              udp dpt:67
ACCEPT     tcp  --              tcp dpt:67

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
ACCEPT     all  --       ctstate RELATED,ESTABLISHED
ACCEPT     all  --           
ACCEPT     all  --             
REJECT     all  --              reject-with icmp-port-unreachable
REJECT     all  --              reject-with icmp-port-unreachable

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         
ACCEPT     udp  --              udp dpt:68

After installation on iptables-persistent and flushing all iptables rules and saved configuration once again those rules are back. How can I get rid of them?



share|improve this question
Any chance this is a VM? – dan08 Apr 18 '14 at 20:15

protected by Community Oct 27 '14 at 18:25

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.