Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I mounted an external disk, looked at its contents in the file browser, and then did "safely remove drive". Surprise: a small window pops up stating that it's writing to the disk and warning me not to unplug the drive until it's done. What the heck is there to be written? I did create any files, or change any file names, etc.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Every time you look at files or directories - access-times are written to the filesystem.

It a pretty big deal if you are doing forensics. In those cases you surly want to mount as read-only.

Also if access to the fs was previously cut in the middle of an operation (unmounted improperly) then the next time you mount it - a recovery will make modification to the fs to bring it to a consistent state by consulting the journal.

share|improve this answer
    
Extending this: If you want to change the access time writes, you can change your /etc/fstab to: noatime, relatime, etc. Check here for more info. –  boehj May 5 '11 at 17:02
    
Also at mount time the file-system is marked as mounted. –  richard Jan 21 '13 at 16:27
    
Also for removable media mounting it in sync mode, will be safer and quicker to dismount. –  richard Jan 21 '13 at 16:27

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.