Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I installed Ubuntu 13.10 alongside Windows 8 a couple days ago.

Today I tried to set up l2tp following some complicated tutorial on the web, messed up some configuration files, and since it was a fresh installation, I have decided to simply reinstall the OS.

After booting from USB stick, I've chosen Install Ubuntu from the menu. On the next screen, I selected Remove Ubuntu and reinstall. Underneath the caption, there was a warning saying that I will loose my Ubuntu files, profile music and stuff.

Nothing at all was said about my Windows partition, only about Ubuntu. I had Ubuntu installed to a separate 50GB partition, so I continued.

After Ubuntu was installed, I've noticed that Windows is gone from the boot loader. I also couldn't access Windows partitions from Ubuntu.

Finally, I've launched GParted and see this:

enter image description here

Have I really just deleted all my Windows files? Looks like so. I know there's plenty of data recovery questions on AU, so mine will be:

What is Remove Ubuntu and reinstall option supposed to do, and why it has affected the Windows installation in such a way?

And of course, I didn't make any backups.

share|improve this question
    
I'm not sure I can answer your question, but out of curiosity was your Ubuntu installation in windows or was it in a separate partition. –  slr1337 Nov 20 '13 at 20:30
    
It was in a separate 50 GiB partition before I tried to reinstall it. –  Doghouse87 Nov 20 '13 at 20:34

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.