Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

This question is very closely related to What exactly is "Ubuntu Desktop Edition" safe mode? (and I'm having exactly the same problem), as the comment says the answer given may be confusing safe mode from the boot menu and safe mode from GDM.

Assuming we choose the "Ubuntu Desktop Edition (safe mode)" from the login screen, firstly what does this not load in relation to not safe mode? and secondly is there a way of finding out which modules differ between them, and then selectively starting them to find out which one is causing the problem?

Effectively doing the transition from safe mode to normal mode step by step.


share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted


You get of the list of all loaded modules with the command:


To compare them, you redirect the output to a file:

lsmod > lsmod.savemode

restart in normal mode

lsmod > lsmod.normal 
diff lsmod.normal lsmod.savemode

diff might need to be installed. A more comfortable tool for viewing is xxdiff, which needs to be installed too:

sudo apt-get install xxdiff
xxdiff lsmod.normal lsmod.savemode
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.