Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have an installation in my machine (my version is 9.10 Karmic) and I got a warning to Upgrade to a version 10.04, to me it is okay, and I would like to upgrade to the 10.04, but here is my question.

If I do, what will happen to my system of files? All my files? My programs, my apache configuration? All my servers.. Does everything reset to default? Will I lost all my data? Because if YES, will lost everything, why such a warning appears to me?

Then the best solution is, format everything and install a brand new ubuntu version 11.

Otherwise I still using 9.10 Karmic version,and just update normally as I'm required..

What is the best to do on this situation?

Appreciate any help!

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

Generally speaking, you shouldn't lose anything if you upgrade. Make a backup beforehand, though! See the guide here on how to upgrade. You're going to have to do it step-by-step (9.10->10.04...).

share|improve this answer
1  
The only problem that I forsee is that during the upgrade something dies. Now realistically, from 9.10 -> 10.04, such death is rare. However, if you do the other step-by-step upgrading (10.04 -> 10.10, 10.10 -> whatever), the risk that something dies increases, and that risk gets higher with each upgrade-upon-upgrade. –  Thomas W. Mar 14 '11 at 17:09
    
Thanks guys, anyway I ll upgrade to 10.04. and after tell you how it was.. –  B4NZ41 Mar 14 '11 at 19:09
    
@Fernando: You might just be better off backing up your data and then installing fresh, it might avoid you having to deal with broken packages during the upgrade-upon-upgrade process. :/ –  Thomas W. Mar 14 '11 at 19:52
1  
And what about the apache, mysql, php and all other stuffs that do not come by default with ubuntu ? Does everything will be lost?? –  B4NZ41 Mar 14 '11 at 20:15
2  
The upgrade shouldn't remove those programs unless something really bad (=bug) happens. The upgrader will tell you what programs it's going to install/update and delete. Your settings will be untouched, if the upgrader needs to update a config file, it'll ask for your permission first. –  papukaija Mar 14 '11 at 20:46
show 3 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.