Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

when trying to install 13.04 in an existing ubuntu partition. the installer gives an option "erase and reinstall on existing ubuntu partition". doing that also erase all the other partions on that hardrive in including ntfs/fat ones and makes one big partition.

is that a nasty bug or a feature ? this might be reproducible easily in VM.

share|improve this question
    
This is fairly subjective. I think it is a bug, because every month we get several questions here of people that did not understand it and subsequently panic. So I think it is a usability issue. –  don.joey Apr 26 '13 at 9:14
    
they should add a warning or a short description in the installer. that being said, linux installers are always a bit confusing. for this reason i always do the manual way. –  mojo Apr 26 '13 at 10:41
add comment

1 Answer 1

That is a feature - and not a bug.

Depends really on what kind of partitions you've made earlier, and what they are used for. If Ubuntu is the only operating-system used on a computer, it will remove all partitions because it wont affect other OS's.

share|improve this answer
    
Indeed. If you want to preserve data you need to select "manual" –  Rinzwind Apr 26 '13 at 9:35
    
Thankx. that cleared it. i had two partitions one ext3 and another ntfs (no windows). now i have one ext4 + swap. –  mojo Apr 26 '13 at 10:19
    
This attitude doesn't help Ubuntu. Of course it's a bug. Why would you take pleasure in someone losing their Windows partition and data? How is that a selling point for Ubuntu? –  bcbc Apr 26 '13 at 17:52
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.