Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Cause Ubuntu uses Upstart instead of init, there is some different from Red Hat.
But How can I get the list of each runlevel number standing for, such as init 0 means shutdown.
man init can't show the list. So which command or man page cant print the list.

share|improve this question

Try man telinit

However, the runlevels in Ubuntu are:

Code        Description
0           Halt
1           Single-user mode
2           Graphical multi-user with networking
3-5         Unused but configured the same as runlevel 2
6           Reboot
share|improve this answer
man telinit doesn't list as up. Thx all the same. – Honghe.Wu Nov 4 '13 at 2:10

Run levels vary per distribution, but in general:

Runlevel 0: Power off, halted.
Runlevel 1: Single user mode.
Runlevel 6: Reboot.

Usually one of 3,4, or 5 stands for 'multi user', but there is much more variation in these.

share|improve this answer
Thx, though you still didn't solve my problem. It seems that I have seen the command to show the whole runlevel list before, but can't remember anyway today. – Honghe.Wu Apr 14 '13 at 13:45
I can't remember the name either. I usually just search though /etc/inittab and use tellinit. That used before upstart arrived. The closest I come this days is apt-get install chkconfig followed by chkconfig --list service_name – Hennes Apr 14 '13 at 13:55

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.