Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Yesterday I noticed the following when I started removing several apps I was not going to use. The file in the rc folders (/etc/rc0.d , /etc/rc1.d.... /etc/rc6.d) associated with the deleted app was still there.

For example, after removing gammut, the file /etc/rc0.d/K20gammu-smsd was still there.

Same for the following I found:

Motion - /etc/rc0.d/K60motion
WiCD - /etc/rc0.d/K20wicd
HDDTemp - /etc/rc0.d/K20hddtemp

And so on. This also applies to other RC levels corresponding to the Single user, multi user and shutdown level.s

What do I need to do (Avoiding having to do it manually for each) to remove any trace of the app.

share|improve this question
1  
I thought the purge option in apt-get deals with this(?) –  Rinzwind Apr 5 '13 at 19:32
1  
Since these are startup scripts, and the filename start K instead of S, they should have no effect, and shouldn't even slow down the start-up process. (Or am I missing something?) Are you sure you need to remove them at all? –  Eliah Kagan Apr 5 '13 at 19:51
1  
@LuisAlvarado Replacing S with K in the name of an rcN.d-style startup script is just the standard way of disabling the service. It's not actually killing anything. Still, your question stands--no files for these services existed in your rc... directories before the packages were installed, so there should be some automated way to get back to that state. –  Eliah Kagan Apr 5 '13 at 20:28
1  
@LuisAlvarado Yep, 1 millibyte per app. :) –  Eliah Kagan Apr 5 '13 at 20:35
2  
@Jai S starts a service, K kills it. –  Luis Alvarado Apr 15 '13 at 16:25
show 7 more comments

1 Answer 1

I filed a bug on this once a long time ago.

Ubuntu devs consider this a feature.

Remember that Ubuntu is a multi-user operating system, unlike Windows which pretends to be multi-user but actively prevents users from using it at the same time.

The application install and the user settings are separated so that users can carry their settings around to different computers regardless of the application's install state, and so that if the administrator uninstalls the application the user can retain their settings.

It's also there so that if you change your mind about installing an application and re-install it you'll still have all your settings. Android works the same way.

That's the long answer. The short answer is there's no way to associate which dot folder goes with which application programatically, so there's no feature that can be turned on to automatically remove that data.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.