Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I set up an UbuntuOne account on PC1 (Ubuntu 10.10) and the same account on PC2 (Ubuntu 10.04).

I did the following:

  1. Created file named maverick.txt in PC1's ~/Ubuntu One/log
  2. Created file named venus.txt in PC2's ~/Ubuntu One/log

Bot files appeared in one.ubuntu.com

A few hours later, those two files are disappeared from

  • PC1's Ubuntu One/log
  • PC2's Ubuntu One/log
  • one.ubuntu.com

So, my files are gone forever.

Why did this happen? Is there any way to recover those files?

share|improve this question
1  
There probably is, but we need to find out more, and this is not the place to do it. Please file a bug and let me know the bug number. Thanks! –  Chipaca Feb 17 '11 at 10:26
    
Same happened to me. Working from two pcs with Ubuntu 10.10. Was connected to one.ubuntu from both, but now my original files are gone. I didn't have anything in there yet worth losing sleep over, but would like to know if this is a glitch or if I did something wrong, before I save something important. –  user11291 Feb 22 '11 at 20:28

1 Answer 1

I cant answer why Ubuntu One is failing.

you must run foremost from live cd otherwise you will lose deleted files (thanks for that comment!)

I recommend DEFT Linux LiveCD

To recover files I recommend you foremost. Foremost is for recovering files in harddisk.

foremost -t doc,txt,avi,jpg -i /dev/XXXX -o tmp/recovered

Also you must save the recovered files in other harddisk. /dev/XXXX you should put the partition with the deleted files.

share|improve this answer
    
And that's really bad idea. When you install new software, you have rather good probability on overwriting deleted files from disk. Much better approach: shutdown as soon as possible and boot with live-cd. –  Olli Feb 24 '11 at 16:20
    
thanks you are right, but its not a bad idea. I forget to say that :P. I usually have important data in other partition or harddisk...then installing new software will never overwrite deleted files since OS is in other partition/disk. But if he is using the same disk, that will be bad idea! –  llazzaro Feb 24 '11 at 16:24

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.