Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

xfce4-screenshooter is offering to upload your screenshots automatically to zimagez.com but how long will they keep your screenshots there?

See this article about the tool on webud8.org

If it is not stored "forever", it would be an unreliable way of sending someone your screenshot.

share|improve this question
4  
Ubuntu/xfce has nothing to do with when it gets deleted so this seems off topic to me. The only one that can answer this is zimagez. They have a twitter account. Ask them what 'used' means in (Pictures stored online as long as they are used). in their how it works section. –  Rinzwind Feb 12 '13 at 16:02
    
don't understand, why it is closed. the FAQ sais "Services provided by Ubuntu" and the xfce4-screenshooter is standard in Xubuntu, so is the ZimageZ too –  rubo77 Feb 13 '13 at 11:55
    
zimagez is NOT a service provided by ubuntu. It is a service provided by zimagez @rubo77 –  Rinzwind Feb 13 '13 at 12:06
    
I edited the title, does it fit now? I think this is very important for the users of the screenshot service in Xubuntu –  rubo77 Feb 13 '13 at 12:36
    
@rubo77 - the revised question is now a "debate" style question which would encourage discussion. As such it is not a good fit with the Q&A style on AU. –  fossfreedom Feb 27 '13 at 10:39
add comment

closed as off topic by Rinzwind, bodhi.zazen, Jorge Castro, RolandiXor, Seth Feb 12 '13 at 21:53

Questions on Ask Ubuntu are expected to relate to Ubuntu within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1 Answer

up vote 3 down vote accepted

From their FAQ(roughly translated):

"Only images that are inactive for several months (thumbnails not clicked) are automatically deleted, so there is no risk of your collection in smoke :)"

You would probably have to contact them directly to get more specific answers.

share|improve this answer
    
So this is not reliable at all!!! I will only use it for unimportant stuff then! –  rubo77 Feb 13 '13 at 11:53
    
Better translation: "Only ANONYMOUS images that are inactive for several months (not clicked thumbnails) are automatically erased, so there is no risk of seeing your collection in smoke :)". If you sign in to upload, your images are not deleted. –  laurent Nov 3 '13 at 12:24
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.