Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This was posted in the Ubuntu Forums but received no response, so I'm re-posting it here (with minor updates) in hopes that it will at least get some comments.

Recently, I moved a large amount of contents (a few GBs) within the Ubuntu One folder (through cut-and-paste). Then I discovered how Ubuntu One does this is to remove them on the server side and upload all the files again in the new location. Obviously, this is undesirable because of the hefty uploading involved. Worse, since I have two computers synced to the same account, it is double the amount of traffic. Each computer took about one day to finish synchronising.

Firstly, can anyone confirm that this is actually what's happening when we move folders? I'm using Ubuntu 10.04, by the way. Secondly, is there a way to cut-and-paste stuff within the Ubuntu One folder without uploading again?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

At the moment Ubuntu One does re-upload files on move, which I agree is not great. There's no other way to cut and paste without triggering this.

We are fixing this for Natty, I expect the fix to land within the next 2 months along with many more performance improvements.

share|improve this answer
    
Okay cool, thanks for the confirmation. I look forward to the Natty release and the subsequent performance improvements! –  Jackson Tan Jan 31 '11 at 23:26
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.