Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Well title says all. As there is no use of this feature for me I want to disable this feature whenever I delete is stays it stays in .Trash folder of a device e.g. Pendrive and with time it start to take space in GB's. How can i disable it.

share|improve this question
    
Everytime time you "delete" something is sent to a Trash folder, empty the trash each time before removing your device. –  Uri Herrera Dec 14 '12 at 19:43
    
I am interested in a solution which turns off recycle bins for removeable media at all... –  Hartmut Mar 23 '13 at 9:19
    
Another scenario is when sharing folders in a VM. Ubuntu 13.04 in a VM sees my Windows host folder as a device and creates ".Trash-1000" in it (the shared folder is writeable for my workflow, so making it read only is not a solution). I used to be able to share a folder without it appearing in devices, but can't remember how this worked. –  faB Jan 9 at 16:42

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

If you permanently delete something, it will not create a .Trash folder and put it there. To do this in Nautilus (the default file browser in Ubuntu), simply hold the Shift key while pressing delete. This will bypass the Trash, which is similar to the Recycling Bin in Windows and allows undeleting.

You can also add a Delete right-click command which bypasses trash in Nautilus. To do this, open Nautilus and select Edit -> Preferences. Then click the Behavior tab, and select "Include a Delete command that bypasses Trash".

Also, as Uri Herrera mentioned, you can empty the trash to remove it.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.