Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

For example, in moving from Maverick to Natty, Banshee replaces Rhythmbox as the media player. But if I had installed a player different from either one of these, and uninstalled Rhythmbox, how would the distribution upgrade behave? Would it still install Banshee? What if I simply uninstall and then reinstall Rhythmbox? Will it upgrade to Banshee?

Months ago, on the Lucid to Maverick update, I got impatient and made the upgrade a week or two before the final release. At that time, the new Ubuntu font was not implemented, so I downloaded and installed it by myself. When I upgraded to the final version, of course I had the font, but it was not set up as it should have been, with the correct font sizes. I fixed them manually later. I suppose that this happened because the system "considered" this to be a personal setting which should not be changed.

My main question is: How does the system "know" whether I want to use a particular setting as the default, thus upgrading it according to the new version, or if that setting was actively set by me and, in that case keeping it intact?

share|improve this question
    
Related but not quite a dupe: askubuntu.com/questions/5435/… –  Jorge Castro Jan 23 '11 at 0:20

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

From a technical viewpoint, all the files in your home directory will not be touched during an OS update. This fact contains the answer to your question: Since, under Linux, programs generally store their settings in hidden directories under ~/, the settings will be kept.

However, only retaining the settings does not mean that nothing will change for you: If, during an update, app A is replaced by B , the settings from ~/.asettings will still be there, but there's no program left to work with them. Your "user experience" will be that A and everything you configured there are lost, and you'll have to start configuring B instead (or simply install A manually again).

Another problem arises when programs change heavily, for example when KDE moved from version 3 to 4. It may well be that a program changed so fundamentally (consider Amarok 1 vs Amarok 2) that the old config files, although still there, are ignored.

share|improve this answer
    
In the example I gave, then, in order for the font to behave as "default", I would have to delete whatever configuration file sets those font sizes, right? Also, do the installed apps count as settings? What would happen in the Rhythmbox example? –  PONTO Jan 23 '11 at 0:57
    
Yes, that's usually how it works (although in this case, I think there's also a "Defaults" button in the font selection dialog). –  jstarek Jan 23 '11 at 1:01

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.