I have thunderbird setup to use gmail IMAP. I followed the various guides that recommend setting Edit->Account Settings->Server Settings->When I delete a message->Remove it immediately. Unfortunately this didn't have quite the effect I wanted and after more digging I discovered here that:
[Thunderbird] [Gmail] Mark Deleted = Archive Copy to [Gmail]/Trash = Delete Permanently Remove it immediately = Archive
Unfortunately whenever I deleted (archived) a message it was also marked as read whether it had been or not. I didn't want this because I like to keep my inbox clean and archive anything that doesn't actually matter, such as funny emails, etc. and then go back and look through the archive later when I have time.
What settings do I need to prevent messages from being marked read when I delete them?
I'm using Thunderbird 17.0 on Ubuntu 12.04