Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know I've seen this documented somewhere before, but what's the option to keep update-manager from prompting for updates except for LTS-to-LTS releases?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

If you go to Ubuntu > System > Administration > Update Manager, you'll see a Settings... button at the bottom left of the dialog. In the dialog, switch to the Updates tab and uncheck the updates checkboxes and set Release Upgrade to "Long Term Support Releases Only".

It should look something like:

enter image description here

See the community docs for more information.

share|improve this answer
1  
The given picture is misleading: "Release upgrade" is set to "Normal Releases", where it should be "LTS Releases" –  MestreLion May 26 '11 at 23:06
2  
Is there a way to do this without the GUI? I have an Ubuntu VPS that keeps pestering me to upgrade to 12.10. –  dgw Jan 3 '13 at 4:28
1  
@dgw You'll probably want to check out /etc/update-manager/release-upgrades. You can set Prompt to lts instead of normal and that should help. Run 'do-release-upgrade' to check if it finds a new release. –  flickerfly Oct 24 '13 at 18:24
add comment

Posting as an answer what @flickerfly said in a comment: the way to do it without a GUI is to change the value of Prompt in /etc/update-manager/release-upgrades.

[DEFAULT]
Prompt=lts

The possible values are (copied from the file itself):

  • never: Never check for a new release.
  • normal: Check to see if a new release is available. If more than one new release is found, the release upgrader will attempt to upgrade to the release that immediately succeeds the currently-running release.
  • lts: Check to see if a new LTS release is available. The upgrader will attempt to upgrade to the first LTS release available after the currently-running one. Note that this option should not be used if the currently-running release is not itself an LTS release, since in that case the upgrader won't be able to determine if a newer release is available.
share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.