Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I use dm-tool to lock the screen for userA, I can log in as userB and then use dm-tool to switch back to userA's session without having to enter a password. Is that the expected behavior? If not, how should I switch from A to B without leaving userA exposed?

userA$ dm-tool lock

--> Shows Greeter. Login as userB.

userB$ dm-tool switch-to-user userA

--> Expected this to go to greeter, but it goes right back to userA's session.

Do I have something mis-configured, or what?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

I've tried doing that and what I actually had is not exposed, but locked session of user A.

Say I'm logged in @ Vty/7 as user A and then when I do "dm-tool lock" it switches me to another Vty with new instance of X server and login window. But I can skip login into and easily go back to Vty/7 — pressing Ctrl_Alt_F7. When I do this, I see locked user A session, there's no doubt.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.