Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does anyone know what notation is used to represent keyboard keys in Byobu's keybinding files (f-keys.screen etc)?

I know what keys I would like to change and have poured through the file trying to figure out which keys are represented by the notation you use but I can't decypher the compound structure for some of them. It looks like there are several symbols used for some commands and that is throwing me for a loop.

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

So there's two forms of notification, one for Byobu's screen backend, and the other for Byobu's tmux backend.

The screen backend uses GNU Screen's syntax, as described in its manpage, while the tmux backend uses Tmux's syntax, as described in its manpage.

For screen, when I want to create a new keybinding, I usually open up a new terminal window outside of Byobu, and type:

$ cat >/dev/null

And then type some key combination, for instance Ctrl-Shift-F7, and you should see on the screen:


That's the key code that you would need to put into your ~/.byobu/keybindings.screen.

You'll use the bindkey command, and you'll want to bind that to one or more commands, as described in the screen manpage.

For tmux, the syntax is way easier! Here, you can just use "S" for Shift, "C" for Ctrl, "M" for Alt, etc. Once again, it's described pretty thoroughly in the tmux manpage.

share|improve this answer
Thanks so much! – JonHamill Oct 16 '12 at 20:21

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.