Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I want to update by ubuntu 10.10 to 12.04 LTS. Is there any way i can do it without backing up the data that is there in my drive. I have been using 10.10 for a long time. And i like the new 12.04 LTS and have used it for a while on my friends laptop. Thank you.

share|improve this question
1  
You know the old saying: there are two kinds of people, those who do backups and those who will do backups. Not having a backup is an awful idea. –  January Sep 26 '12 at 5:26
    
:) i come in the one who never wants to do a backup –  thanmai Sep 26 '12 at 5:53
    
See also here: askubuntu.com/questions/52332/upgrading-from-10-04-to-11-04 (the procedures did not chnage) –  Takkat Sep 26 '12 at 6:29
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 0 down vote accepted

I have been updating/re-installing Ubuntu without a backup for several releases now.

My method is to use 2 partitions and keep all the personal data on that 2nd disc away from your system. I have / and /home on 1 disc but my /home does not hold any personal data. So I can either format / and/or /home without loosing anything. All I do at the end of the re-install is remove all directories in home and point them to my 2nd harddisc (where the actual files are). And a F5 on the desktop gives me back my icons on the desktop.

So yes, it can be done but if you did not set this up yet then you probably are best of burning your stuff to a cd, dvd or to store it online. A backup is always adviced

share|improve this answer
add comment

You can upgrade without updating it will not delete your data but maybe some of the your softwares that are not supported by 12.04 will be deleted. But, I advice you to backup and never think to upgrade without backup.

share|improve this answer
    
thank you for your advice. –  thanmai Sep 26 '12 at 5:54
    
"never say never" - if you choose to "Erase everything" on upgrading it will erase everything including your personal data. –  Takkat Sep 26 '12 at 6:22
    
upgrading will not remove your data. It will affect only application out of the box –  user91632 Sep 26 '12 at 7:25
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.