Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Possible Duplicate:
auto-remove of files from U1 account as soon removed from U1 folder

Currently, when I create a file (in a folder sync with ubuntu one), it uploads it on its server. Then what I want is "when i delete this file on my PC, it wont delete from the server"

indeed I use Ubuntu one for two reason : 1/ If my PC burns, I can recovery them 2/ If someone come and delete my precious files, I can recovery them.

Is there a way ?

thanks sorry for my english im french :)

share|improve this question
add comment

marked as duplicate by Uri Herrera, Sergey, Jorge Castro, Eliah Kagan, John S Gruber Sep 19 '12 at 0:44

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

1 Answer

Ubuntu One is a file and folder synchronization service. It is designed to keep the files in our computers in sync with the files in the cloud and your 9 other computers (assuming you have 10 computers).

It is not designed to be a file storage and backup system. So if you delete the files from your local folder they will be deleted from the Ubuntu One server and any other computers you have Ubuntu One signed on with the same account.

See auto-remove of files from U1 account as soon removed from U1 folder.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.