Sign up ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free.

In Empathy, when you go to history, you have the option to delete all history and not for only a specific user.

How to delete the history of a specific user in Empathy people nearby account with preserving the history of other users?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 1 down vote accepted

The logs from Empathy (using the telepathy library, hence the naming) are under


(Note that this is a hidden directory - use the terminal or View->Show Hidden Files in Nautilus)

Logs are stored in this directory in the structure


Delete as appropriate.

share|improve this answer

The logs (since Empathy 2.31.4) are saved in ~/.local/share/TpLogger/logs.
Take a look there, and delete the file of the specific user.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.