Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I login back in Ubuntu 12.04, all my opened files are automatically closed and I have to open it from the first. Why it happens so? Do I need to change any settings? Anyone, please help me to resolve this problem!

share|improve this question
1  
They are closed because you logged out, and any applications that had them open were closed when you did that. –  Jazz Aug 6 '12 at 11:53

1 Answer 1

When you logout or shutdown/reboot, all your open applications/windows are closed first. That's why you have to reopen them when you login again.

Previous versions of Ubuntu/GNOME had an option on to "save session" when logging out, which is what you may be referring to. Unfortunately, this is not currently possible with Unity on 12.04; your best alternative if you need this feature is to hibernate your computer instead of logging out/shutting down.

Please see this answer for more information: http://askubuntu.com/a/143616/58612

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.