Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How do I down load a whole folder from my Ubuntu One account that is up loaded regularly from my computer.

I did a fresh install to Ubuntu 12.04 and need to reinstall my Thunderbird and other file.

Thanks, Bob.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

If you created additional synchronised folders on your first computer, you can synchronise them to the second computer using the control panel.

First choose Ubuntu One from the messaging menu (or search for it in the dash), and then check the Sync Locally? check box next to the folders you are interested in:

Ubuntu One control panel

The folder should begin downloading from the cloud immediately.

share|improve this answer

When you connect again to your Ubuntu One account, the files that were uploaded before, will be automatically downloaded to your computer. This is the job of Ubuntu One: synchronize all the devices that are connected to the same account. So if you did a fresh install, simply connect to your Ubuntu One account.

share|improve this answer
    
Oh, I thought it would over write the files that were already uploaded with the fresh install files which contained nothing and my stored information would be lost. Not the case? –  Bob Brazie Aug 5 '12 at 20:22
    
Is there a way to download a folder to my hard drive though? –  Bob Brazie Aug 5 '12 at 20:24
    
As far as I know if Ubuntu one finds differences in the files, it creates a copy with the extension .u1conflict. Then you can choose which one to keep. After this, the regular synchronization is enabled. But I have no direct experience of this. –  Vosaxalo Aug 6 '12 at 21:18
    
If you have a new install it's important to NOT copy over an old ~/.local/share/ubuntuone folder. That will result in Ubuntu One deleting the local files when it sees a previously populated local cache (~/.local/share/ubuntuone) and empty folders. The client will think you meant to delete the files in that case. –  Joshua Hoover Aug 9 '12 at 16:36

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.