What happens when I delete a group wich is owner of certain folders and files? Who become the owner then?
Each user has a unique number, called a uid. Each group has a unique number, called a gid. It's the uid and gid that gets stored as owners of files, not the username or groupname.
The mapping between username and uid is in
When you use
When you remove a group, you just remove the mapping between groupname and gid in
If you create a new group and it gets assigned the same gid as the one you deleted, the files will then be owned by that group.
The permissions are stored on the filesystem if that filesystem supports them.
There is no direct connection between the available users or groups on a particular machine with the permissions of a file/folder.
If you delete a group or a user the permissions simply remain the same, you have 2 commands that you can use to change user and group permission, they both require