Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I upgraded to 12.04 from 11.10. I thought that by upgrading I wouldn't lose the accounts (and the release notes make no reference to loosing it), yes, I carelessly hit the upgrade button but please tell me if all pictures, videos and songs are gone for good?

In the end, isn't that the reason to go for an upgrade instead of a clean install?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Did you loose media files only? If you changed the language, desktop may search by default in the wrong directories cause of translation, like "Music" in place of "Musique" (in french). Say, media directories defaut name are localized (at least french/english)

share|improve this answer
1  
short answer: you are right! ... i had some user accounts in a different language, so when i installed the upgrade i chose that as the installation language, i have backed up those files now! –  3.141592 Jun 20 '12 at 18:10

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.