Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I removed the sync folder online (one.ubuntu.com), does the files gets deleted from Ubuntu Servers?

share|improve this question
    
Possible duplicate. Take a look at this ..askubuntu.com/questions/91983/… –  Mitch May 28 '12 at 16:16
1  
@Mitch I don't think it is a duplicate of that –  fluteflute May 28 '12 at 16:43
add comment

1 Answer

I don't know how much time the U1 servers keep the folder you delete. But I have found that the folders are not deleted immediately. I have deleted a folder with many GB and the synchronized again and in a couple of minutes it was all ok again. With my net speed it's impossible to upload so many GB in so few minutes.

share|improve this answer
    
We do data de-duplication, so if multiple people upload the same file, we only store it once. Deleted data doesn't get garbage collected immediately, which is why you would have seen the behaviour you did. –  James Henstridge May 30 '12 at 11:32
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.