Take the 2-minute tour ×
Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I first started using Thunderbird. I overlooked that Thunderbird
deletes message(on server) after 14 days. It gave me a HELL of a shock.
When i checked my mail via web-browser(luckily hot-mail put them in my deleted folder. phew). When I updated 11.10 to 12.04 via clean install. I forgot this setting. Almost removed them again

I want to know if there is some command that can disable this settings for all my accounts in Thunderbird.
Cause i have a install-all-12.04.sh script that I want to put it in. With the rest of my codes.
and in the future help some NOOBS ;)

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

You can fix this within Thunderbird directly. Go to Accounts>Synchronisation and Storage and in the last option ("To recover disk space...") make sure that "Don't delete any messages" is selected.

You can override this on a per-folder basis by amending the "Retention Settings" value (right click folder>properties).

share|improve this answer
    
I want to know if there is a command, that can disable that setting without using a gui. –  blade19899 May 21 '12 at 20:18
add comment

I don't know about a command, but you could create a user.js file to override the prefs.js file in the Thunderbird profile directory. I suspect the entries you want are probably these:

user_pref("mail.server.server1.cleanupBodies", false); user_pref("mail.server.server1.daysToKeepBodies", 30); user_pref("mail.server.server1.daysToKeepHdrs", 30);

You might have to do some research into the specifics though.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.