Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. It's 100% free.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I copy files A LOT from one place to another. The dialog box that prompts me to confirm file overwrites slows me down a lot. I have tried to get rid of this but can not find where to configure this. Anybody?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

According to the nautilus source code there is no way to force it to merge+overwrite or just overwrite. The code would have to be modified and recompiled in order to support an option that allowed that.

Let me know if your interested in using a hack I've made, the code is simple, it's just not supported.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks! Too bad, I really hoped there was an easier way. And yes, I'd be interested in that code! – user6019 Nov 13 '10 at 14:49

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.