Ask Ubuntu is a question and answer site for Ubuntu users and developers. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Hi there. I Have a question about a option in system preferences.

If i go in Details and select Graphics, i can find tis 2 options:

  1. Driver (mine is GTX470/etc...)
  2. Experience (mine is standard)

My question is, if there are other types of graphics experiences? If yes, what types, and how i change it?

If no, what is the utility of this thing?

Thanks. :D

share|improve this question
Mine is standard too but I can play Minecraft with 120 Frames per second and this is good. I don't know exactly if there are any other values possible. – Michael Tanner Apr 26 '12 at 23:42
Thanks for the answer :) – Mariusz B. Apr 27 '12 at 5:21

The graphic experience is how you will experience the desktop environment

If you're on standard it means that you can run Unity 3D on your computer

It used to be a different changeable option before 10.10(?). It had 3 modes determining the amount of effects used in Compiz

Related: How can I get my graphics card to be recognized in System Info?

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.